Energy Networks Australia has welcomed the appointment of three new board members to a newly expanded Australian Energy Regulator (AER).

Mr Dillon congratulated appointees Eric Groom, Justin Oliver and Catriona Lowe, who will join Chair Clare Savage and existing member Jim Cox.

He acknowledged the contribution of former AER Chair, Paula Conboy, and outgoing member, Cristina Cifuentes.

“The expansion of the board from three to five members provided the opportunity for greater breadth of experience among members,” Mr Dillon said.

“The addition of Ms Lowe reflects energy networks’ increasing focus on real customer outcomes. Mr Groom and Mr Oliver are also highly respected in their fields.”

Mr Dillon said the network sector was embracing the significant challenges and opportunities from changing customer needs, with rapid growth in renewable generation as part of the decarbonisation of the electricity and gas sectors.

“Given the transformation underway and the AER’s role in network regulation, it is in the best interests of customers that the board has a diverse set of skills and experiences, including a solid understanding of the issues the sector is facing,” Mr Dillon said.

“Energy Networks look forward to a constructive relationship with the new board to deliver good customer outcomes.”

Siobhan Day is the Assistant Editor of Utility magazine and Pump Industry magazine, and has been part of the team since early 2019. With a background in management in the non-profit sector, Siobhan has extensive experience in communications, professional writing and client management. She holds a Bachelor of Business and Communications and is currently completing a postgraduate degree.

©2020 utilitymagazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?