The diversity of Victoria’s water community has been highlighted, with the latest appointment of Victorian Environmental Water Holder (VEWH) Commissioners.

Minister for Water, Lisa Neville, appointed four new commissioners and thanked both departing commissioners for their service to the water sector and community.

Christopher Chesterfield has been reappointed to the Commission in the position of Chairperson and Rueben Berg has returned as Victoria’s Aboriginal Water Commissioner.

Peta Maddy joins the Commission as Deputy Chairperson alongside Jennifer Fraser – continuing a strong record of 50 per cent gender representation on Victoria’s water boards.

The new commissioners will commence their four-year terms on 1 July 2019.

The new VEWH Commissioners bring a balance of experience and knowledge in environmental management, sustainable water management, economics and public administration. 

The new appointments follow the retirement of the inaugural VEWH Chairperson, Denis Flett, and Commissioner, Geoff Hocking, both of whom have shown outstanding leadership and commitment in their roles.

VEWH was established in 2011 and is an independent statutory authority responsible for holding and managing Victoria’s environmental water entitlements. They also make decisions on the most effective use of Victoria’s environmental water entitlements, including use, trade and carryover, to improve the environmental health of rivers, wetlands and floodplains.

The VEWH has in recent years traded water not needed for environmental flows back into the market – allowing for further environmental benefits though on ground works and other measures. For example, this may include works to ensure native fish can migrate and breed to ensure healthy populations.

Before joining the Utility team, Eliza worked as a freelance journalist for a number of years. Eliza has the rare talent of being able to find the nuggets of gold in otherwise average source material, and like any self-respecting member of gen-Y is a whiz when it comes to social media marketing and management.


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 utilitymagazine. All rights reserved

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account