Energy Consumers Australia has announced the appointment of a new Chair, taking over the role from Louise Sylvan who has been the company’s inaugural chair for nine years. 

Dr Michael Schaper has been appointed to the role and will commence on 1 February 2024. 

Dr Schaper was previously Deputy Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and the Small Business Commissioner for the Australian Capital Territory. 

CEO of ECA, Dr Brendan French, said that he is looking forward to working with Dr Schaper to represent the interests of all household and small business energy consumers in Australia. 

“Michael has extensive leadership and governance experience in regulatory issues, consumer protection, small business representation and public policy, and this breadth of experience will be a great asset to consumers at this critical stage of the energy transition,” Dr French said. 

“I would also like to pay tribute to Louise Sylvan, who has been with Energy Consumers Australia from the start and whose dedication and vision for the organisation has seen it go from strength to strength.

Ms Sylvan wished Dr Schaper all the best in his role as Chair of ECA. 

“He will represent household and small business energy consumers with tenacity. I’m looking forward to seeing the organisation continue to do great work in this next stage.” 

©2024 Utility Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?