The Australian Water Association (AWA) has celebrated individuals and organisations within the water industry at its 2022 Western Australian Water Awards, held in Perth.

This year’s winners featured outstanding work by individuals and organisations who make a difference in the water industry and recognised the achievements in technology, business and delivery of water projects across six categories.

Winners from this year’s WA Water Awards will be entered into the National Water Awards to be presented at the AWA Ozwater Conference in 2023.

Award winners include:

  • Organisational Excellence Award:
    Department of Water and Environmental Regulation – 2022 Gnangara Groundwater Allocation Plan

  • R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia):
    Tessele Consultants – Driving Circular Economy in the Red Meat Industry

  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (METRO):
    GHD, Sacyr, Water Corporation and Westforce Construction – Neerabup Groundwater Scheme Expansion
  • Student Water Prize (Sponsored by GHD):
    Irina Sankoff, Murdoch University – Catching Collie’s Future
  • Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):
    Phillip Meng, Senior Analyst – Data Products, Water Corporation
  • Water Sensitive Urban Design:
    DevelopmentWA – OneOneFive Hamilton Hill

Western Australian Minister for Water, Dave Kelly, attended the event and shared his congratulations with award recipients.

“Congratulations to all the winners announced tonight for their innovative projects in the water industry,” Mr Kelly said.

“It is great to see the achievements of all the projects, especially the outstanding effort of the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation for the Organisational Excellence Award for the 2022 Gnangara Groundwater Allocation Plan, which is an essential part of the State Government’s response to climate change.

“The Gnangara Groundwater Allocation Plan is helping Western Australians to adapt to the impacts of climate change, particularly in response to the significant decline in rainfall over the past four decades in the south-west of our State.

“These awards celebrate innovations and innovators that are helping create a waterwise future and provide the opportunity to highlight the great work being done to ensure a sustainable water future for Western Australia.”

©2024 Utility Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?