The Aurora Energy Board has appointed a new chair to take over from incumbent Caryle Demarte.

The Board has elected Dr Mary O’Kane to the position.

Dr O’Kane has a wealth of experience having served on boards and committees in the public and private sector, particularly relating to energy, engineering, ICT and research.

Guy Barnett, the Minister for Energy in Tasmania, acknowledged the efforts of outgoing Chair, Caryle Demarte, saying she has been an “exceptional leader” at Aurora since taking over the role in May 2016.

“Ms Demarte has maintained a core focus on Tasmanian consumers, and has been a strong advocate for good governance,” Mr Barnett said.

Lauren ‘LJ’ Butler is the Assistant Editor of Utility magazine and has been part of the team at Monkey Media since 2018.

After completing a Bachelor of Media, Communications and Professional Writing at the University of Wollongong in 2014, and prior to writing about the utility sector, LJ worked as a Journalist and Sub Editor across the horticulture, hardware, power equipment, construction and accommodation industries with publishers such as Glenvale Publications, Multimedia Publishing and Bean Media Group.

©2024 Utility Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?