A record 17 major Perth residential projects will receive underground power, providing energy to around 18,000 properties across eight local government areas in Perth’s metropolitan area.

The projects were announced by Energy Minister Mike Nahan, under round six of the State Underground Power Program by the Liberal National Government.

More than 100,000 properties have now been funded to receive underground power.

“Almost 60 per cent of houses in the Perth metropolitan area now have underground power, with more than 1,000km of mostly residential streets having been undergrounded over the life of the State Underground Power Program,” Mr Nahan said.

“The projects, which will start in 2017, are expected to be completed by the end of 2021.”

The projects selected under round six are:

Local government Project
Town of Cambridge Floreat West, Floreat North and Floreat East
City of Melville Kardinya South, Alfred Cove East and Melville North
City of South Perth South Perth, Collier and Manning
Town of Victoria Park Victoria Park West, Victoria Park East and Carlisle North
City of Stirling Trigg and Menora
City of Bayswater Maylands Central
City of Cockburn South Lake East
City of Canning Shelley West

Mr Nahan said the selection process considered the potential for projects to improve network security, the level of funding contributions offered by local governments and the level of community support for underground power.

Lauren brings a fresh approach to content. While she’s previously written for publications as diverse as Australian Geographic, The Border Watch and Girlfriend, she’s found her true passion in her current role as an editor in the world of energy and infrastructure trade magazines.

©2024 Utility Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?