The winner of the Australian Water Association 2018 Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year Award has been announced.

Matthew Robertson, Process Engineer at TasWater was announced as this year’s Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year at the annual Tasmanian Galah Dinner on 15 November.

The award recognises young water professionals who have had outstanding career achievements to date, promoted careers in the water sector and raised awareness of water issues in the community.

“Matthew has been a strong advocate for positioning the water sector as an attractive career for young graduates and undergraduates, and his career highlights to date rival the achievements of many experienced water industry professionals,” Australian Water Association Chief Executive, Jonathan McKeown, said.

“From his earlier undergraduate and cadetship days at TasWater, Matthew has grown into an emerging leader who is now guiding and mentoring the next generation of students and graduates into water sector careers.”

“Matthew is extremely deserving of the Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year Award. We look forward to seeing what the future holds for Matthew in the years to come.”

In Tasmania, the Young Water Professional of the Year Award is named in memory of long-serving Tasmanian Branch Committee member Gary Ingram, to recognise his contribution and commitment to the water sector.

This year’s Tasmanian Young Water Professional of the Year will automatically enter the equivalent National Australian Water Awards category, which will be presented at Ozwater’19 in Melbourne next year.

©2024 Utility Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?