The Australian Water Association Awards (AWA) have revealed the winners for Western Australia for 2021. 

The winners were named at a gala dinner at the Ritz Carlton in Perth, bringing together water industry leaders and professionals to recognise and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian Awards finalists and winners, and to discuss what the future holds.

This year’s winners highlight the outstanding work by individuals and organisations in the water industry and recognise innovation in the technology, business and delivery of water projects across the categories.

The AWA annual awards highlight the outstanding work by individuals and organisations in the water industry.

Along with the prestige of being recognised, winners are automatically entered into the National Awards presented at Ozwater each year.

This year’s winners are:

  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Regional):  

Water Corporation – Vasse Diversion Drain Upgrade Project  

  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award (Metro):   

Urbaqua, Water Corporation, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation – Wharf Street Basin Next Generation Community Park Project  

  • R&D Excellence Award (sponsored by Water Research Australia):  

uPtake – Department of Water and Environmental Regulation and Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development

  • Student Water Prize (Sponsored by GHD):  

Elkia Szczecinski, Curtin University – Formation and Detection of Bromophenols and their Contribution to Plastic Taste in Drinking Water

  • Highly Commended  

Ramon Skane, Murdoch University – Modelling & Simulation of Pressure Reducing Valves in Water Networks and their Related Greenhouse Gas Emissions

  • Young Water Professional of the Year (sponsored by Xylem):  

Chenoa Lange, Technical Advisor – Wastewater Processes, Water Corporation  

  • Water Professional of the Year:  

Dr Fabiana Tessele, Director – Tessele Consultants 

Western Australian Water Minister, Dave Kelly, said, “I would like to congratulate all of this year’s winners, as well as those who were nominees in their category.

“Those nominated are champions for our waterwise future – whether as role models for their community, for raising water awareness, for supporting water professions, or for inspiring a sustainable water future for Western Australia.

“It is inspiring to see the commitment and dedication of this year’s finalists, who are contributing in different ways to our State’s water sector.”

©2024 Utility Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?